Students start small businesses as a foundation

College is a time to create a firm foundation that can last for the rest of one’s life. Here at Bethany, a foundation of faith is the most important. Another important aspect to life in college is creating a foundation of confidence, respect and competence. Several young women are doing just this by starting their own independent businesses.

Juniors Olivia Lee and Lydia Langhorst are Mary Kay Beauty consultants. Both women sell Mary Kay Beauty products to earn money, keep their priorities straight and develop communication and commitment skills. Photo by Cassie Wierschke
Juniors Olivia Lee and Lydia Langhorst are Mary Kay Beauty consultants. Both women sell Mary Kay Beauty products to earn money, keep their priorities straight and develop communication and commitment skills.
Photo by Cassie Wierschke

Juniors Olivia Lee, Lydia Langhorst and senior Anne Huckaby are Mary Kay Beauty consultants. Junior Jordyn Heyn is an Avon consultant.

All of these young women are focusing on their future beyond Bethany by starting their own independent businesses. Langhorst is focusing on using her new business experience in the future.

“I decided that it would be a great opportunity for me,” said Langhorst, “since I am a Communication major interested in Business Communication.”

Huckaby is focused on personal communication growth.

“My main reason for starting this business is…allowing myself to go out of my comfort zone. For me that means approaching people and starting a conversation,” said Huckaby.

All agreed that starting an independent business is a great way to make money on their own time, while keeping their priorities straight.

Lee said, “I have an independent business for the sake of setting my own time, making my own quotas and being able to set my priorities right: God, family, school and then my business.”

Heyn mentioned using all kinds of communication when interacting with her clients.

Heyn said, “I order catalogs for them and deliver them. For some people, I make orders, while others just use my website to order from me. I made a Facebook page that people can like. On that page, I update people on the awesome deals Avon has going on.”

Commitment, organization and a love of helping people was something mentioned by all four young women. Huckaby summed it up perfectly when she said, “I think it is important that we use our God-given talents and use them to improve our own lives and the lives of others, even if it means that you have to explore some of your hidden talents.”

Leave a Reply

